Sumter County, Georgia 
Click to Home Page

Go To Search
Click to Home Page
Board of Commissioners
Rayetta Volley
County Clerk

500 West Lamar Street
P.O.Box 295
Americus, GA  31709

Ph: (229) 928-4500
Fx: (229) 928-4503

8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday - Friday

Sumter County is a political subdivision of the State of Georgia. The governing authority of the County is the Board of Commissioners.

General Duties

  • To enact resolutions and ordinances for the general health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Sumter County
  • To levy taxation when necessary to finance the operation of the County government
  • To plan for future public service needs
  • To provide necessary services to safeguard the well-being and safety of the citizens


Sumter County
500 W. Lamar St.
P.O. Box 295
Americus, Georgia 31709
Ph: (229) 928-4500
Fax: (229) 928-4503
Hours: 8:30 am to 5:00 pm